That thin blue line between chaos and civilization has some new certified guardians according to Calcasieu Parish Sheriff Tony Mancuso. The parishes Regional Law Enforcement Training Academy just completed it's 122nd Basic Academy, graduating forty-five new officers representing sixteen area law enforcement agencies.

The Academy is in Lake Charles and was established in 1974. It provides accredited training for five parishes in our region and is administered by Sheriff Mancuso.

The coursework includes 510 hours of instruction in all phases of fundamental law enforcement and all forty-five officers passed the Louisiana Peace Officer Standard Test (POST) exam.

Congratulations to these new officers on the occasion of their graduation.

Lindsey Miller, Damion Pender  – Beauregard Parish Sheriff’s Office,                         Chelsea Abshire, Dylan Copper, Erica Demarest, Gary Fontenot, John Hays, Brandon Holmes, Alex Jones, Dylan Lisotta, Bailey Lognion, Hunter Matte, Kaleb Matte, Payton Monticello, Jean Luc Montou, Nathan Oakman, Taylor Plaisance, Jacob Reeves, Michael Savant, Mason Simien, Tye Taylor, Jr. - Calcasieu Parish Sheriff’s Office, Stacy Morgan, Tiffanie Raymond, Cody Wellsted – Cameron Parish Sheriff’s Department, Cody Thomas – Coushatta Police Department, Kenetta Ross – DeRidder Police Department, Brandon Guillory – Iowa Police Department, Sarah Fox – Jefferson Davis Parish Sheriff’s Office, Cyanna Banks, Brennan Bernat, Angelique Castille, Paul Torres– Lake Charles City Police Department, Gerald Fraiser – Lake Charles Harbor Police, Matthew DeLeon – Oakdale Police Department, Jared Miller, Trevor Pellerin – Rayne Police Department, Dale Strauser – Simpson Police Department, Brant Landry, Dianna Williams – Sulphur Police Department, Jacob Durett, Daniel Rowe– Vernon Parish Sheriff’s Office, Chris James – Welsh Police Department, Dustin Williams – Westlake Police Department, cott Guillory and Robert Harbour, Cameron Parish Sheriff’s Office, graduated after completing 80 hours of refresher courses.

Brennan Bernard of the LCPD was elected class president and Cody Wellsted of the Cameron Parish SO earned Highest Scholastic Average honors.